D(u)alMOOC

I am currently enrolled in #DALMOOC, a blend of cMOOC and xMOOC. At the moment, the most interesting part is not yet the topic (DAL = Data, Analytics, and Learning) but the very promising platform.

Of course it has its teething problems (and it is nice to see that even the venerable edX exhibits such glitches). But many of the user interface ideas are really exciting and worth exploring. Even though I am personally not too comfortable with quick synchronous tools like the chat “Bazaar”, it was nice to meet its VirtualCarolyn and a participant from India. I haven’t yet fully groked the hierarchy of Goal, Credential, Competency, Activity and their completion, in the core component “ProSolo”, but it is this component that offers choice and autonomy, so that’s for me, because I definitely don’t intend to follow all the topics, but rather dip in here and there as long as my curiosity continues.

This entry was posted in DALMOOC. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to D(u)alMOOC

  1. francesbell says:

    I am intrigued by what you say about the platform – not sufficiently intrigued to enrol but I await your future reports:)

  2. x28 says:

    Frances, thank you for your interest. I skipped a lot of the course, and I haven’t yet found a good way to benefit from participant’s RSS feeds. But the experiment is still interesting.

Leave a Reply

